Ohio State Joins National Institute in Clean Energy Manufacturing Initiative

Ohio State is part of a coalition led by the Rochester Institute of Technology that was selected by the U.S. Department of Energy to forge new clean energy initiatives deemed critical in keeping U.S. manufacturing competitive.

As part of the energy department’s Manufacturing USA initiative, the coalition creates the new Reducing Embodied-Energy and Decreasing Emissions (REMADE) Institute. The total award is up to $70 million, with a match of $70 million in private cost-share commitments from industry and other consortium members.

The $2 million cost share contribution from Ohio State, one of more than 100 leading university and industry partners, was assembled from a broad range of units spanning four different colleges (Engineering; Food, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences; Public Health; and Business) and two Discovery Themes — Sustainable & Resilient Economy and Materials and Manufacturing for Sustainability.

The research institute will focus its efforts on driving down the cost of technologies essential to reuse, recycle and remanufacture materials such as metals, fibers, polymers and electronic waste and aims to achieve a 50-percent improvement in overall energy efficiency by 2027. These efficiency measures could save billions of dollars in energy costs and improve U.S. economic competitiveness through innovative new manufacturing techniques, small business opportunities and offer new training and jobs for American workers.

U.S. manufacturing accounts for nearly 25 percent of the nation’s total annual energy use, according to the energy department. The physical products that are created as a result of manufacturing embody most of that energy. The research and deployment of cost-effective technologies that could reduce the energy used in materials production could offer energy savings of up to 1.6 quadrillion BTU annually in the U.S. – more than the electricity, oil and other energy consumed by New Hampshire, Hawaii, Delaware, Rhode Island, Washington, D.C., and Vermont combined.