Ohio State Named 2011 SWACO Emerald Award Winner

On May 17, 2011, The Ohio State University received the “Chairman of the Board” Emerald Award from the Solid Waste Authority of Central Ohio as part of their annual Emerald Awards Luncheon honoring the best and most innovative local ideas in waste recycling among local businesses, institutions, communities, individuals or students.

Representing the many sustainability efforts at Ohio State at the Emerald Awards Luncheon were (Left to Right): Dr. Ron Sega, Ohio State Vice President and Enterprise Executive for Energy and Environment; Molly Ranz- Calhoun, Student Life; James DeFrance, undergraduate student; Robert Osterfeld, Transportation and Parking; Ryan Hottle, Council of Graduate Students; Aparna Dial, Environmental Services and Sustainability; Kate Bartter, Office of Energy and Environment; Lynn Readey, Facilities, Operations and Development; Patrick Smith, ESS; Corey Hawkey, ESS; Ron Mills, SWACO Executive Director; Brad Frick, Chairman, SWACO Board of Trustees.